Home » Derek Warburton attends the Scottish Fashion Awards

Derek Warburton attends the Scottish Fashion Awards

Derek Warburton attends the Scottish Fashion Awards

Christopher Kane, Hunter and Pringle of Scotland were the big winners Sept 3, 2015, taking home Scottish Designer of the Year, Scottish Accessory Designer of the Year and Founders Awards respectively.

The OLYMPUS PEN Scottish Fashion Awards celebrated their 10th Anniversary ‘Highland Gathering’ on Thursday at the Corinthia Hotel in London. Guests included Jonathan Saunders, Derek Warburton, Holly Fulton, Henry Holland, Patrick Grant, Livia Firth, Pam Hogg, Sam McKnight, Jean Campbell, Twin Atlantic, The View, Tallia Storm, Conor Maynard, The Vamps and Caroline Rush CBE arrived courtesy of Maserati to ‘Scotland’s fashion Oscars’. Cohosting the event, RT Hon David Mundell MP Secretary of State for Scotland, Chairman and awards founder Dr. Tessa Hartmann and presented by TV star Laura Whitmore.

Barrie Knitwear took home the Scottish Textile Brand of the Year Award, make up artist Lynsey Alexander took home Communicator of the Year, Cats Brothers were crowned Young Designers of the Year and Walker Slater Retailer of the Year. Belstaff’s Glasgow store collected Luxury Retailer of the Year, Topman picked up International Designer of the Year for their Fall/Winter 2015 London Collection. Menswear designer Charles Jeffrey was crowned Scottish Graduate of the Year. Misha Hart having walked for Burberry, Louis Vuitton, Miu Miu, Jonathan Saunders and Giles was rightly crowned Scottish Model of the Year.  The Fashion Icon Award – the only award decided on by Fans was awarded to Connor Ball from The Vamps.
Edinburgh born fashion publicist Nick Ede who was presented with ‘Fashion Philanthropist of the Year’ for his ‘Style For Stroke’ campaign. His ‘Famous Last Words’ charity t-shirt featured on a host of celebrity names has raised huge amounts of funds for the Stroke Association over the last four years and is currently retailed by boohoo.com around the world.

The awards also honoured one of the oldest names of the Scottish borders, the birthplace of the British knitwear industry – Pringle of Scotland.  Massimo Nicosia and Katy Wallace collected the ‘Founders Award 2015’ as Pringle celebrate their Scottish heritage and indeed two centuries of design. Their anniversary campaign featured great Scots including Stella Tennant and was captured by legendary Scottish photographer Albert Watson, both of who have already been inducted into the Olympus Pen Scottish Fashion Awards Hall of Fame.

Founder Dr. Tessa Hartmann said: “Our aim was to highlight Scotland’s contribution to the wider UK and international fashion industry and I think this evening’s nominees do just that. We’re so proud that over the last ten years this event has become a benchmark of success for the Scottish fashion industry. Long may it flourish and grow along with the incredible talent that it aims to represent.”


Scottish Designer of the Year
Christopher Kane

Scottish Textile Brand / Manufacturer of the Year
Barrie Knitwear

Communicator of the Year
Lynsey Alexander – Make Up Artist

Scottish Young Designer of the Year
Cats Brothers

Scottish Fashion Graduate of the Year
Charles Jeffrey (Central St.Martins)

Scottish Retailer of the Year
Walker Slater

Scottish Model of the Year
Misha Hart (Viva London)

Scottish Accessory Designer of the Year
Hunter Boots

Fashion Philanthropist
Nick Ede

Fashion Icon
Connor Ball (The Vamps)

Luxury Retailer of the Year
Belstaff (Glasgow)

International Designer (for best use of Scottish fabric)

Founders Award 2015
Pringle of Scotland

Hall of Fame
David Eustace

barrie_knitwear belstaff cats_brothers charles_jeffrey christopher_kane connor_ball   david_eustace hunter_boots lynsey_alexander misha_hart nick_ede pringle_of_scotland topman walker_slater

kevin lapalme
Latest posts by kevin lapalme (see all)